Maryland Bed & Breakfast Association

MBBA Advocacy

WE NEED YOUR HELP! SUPPORT OUR SMALL BUSINESS COMMUNITY IN BALTIMORE.

As small business owners, Baltimore’s Bed and Breakfasts must comply with all state and local regulations, as well as collect and pay city and state taxes. We do so to succeed as small businesses and in the interest of laws ultimately written to protect our customers.

But we have been forced to operate in an unfair market. Thousands of Airbnb’s and other short-term rental units are not paying their fair share, resulting in lost tax revenue for the city and underground, unregulated hotels operating right here in Baltimore, putting the safety of guests at risk.

Baltimore City Council is considering legislation, Bill 18-0189, to address this issue and regulate short term rentals in Baltimore City.

Baltimore City Bill 18-1089 would create a comprehensive framework for modernizing the regulation of short-term rental platforms in Baltimore, and ensure all hosts engaged in renting accommodations respect existing rules in the city and pay their fair share.

Join us in calling on City Council members to support the small business community in Baltimore. Here are three ways you can help:

  • Call. Call each of the Baltimore City council members at their office numbers listed below and ask them to support the small business community in Baltimore and vote yes on 18-0189.
  • Email. Email the Baltimore City council members at the email addresses listed below. Click here for a fact sheet produced by the coalition AirbnbWatch MD for additional facts and messages on the legislation. You can also click here to send an email through AirbnbWatch MD’s online tool.
  • Show up. Join us on September 13th at 10am at City Hall at 100 Holliday St, Downtown Baltimore for a council work session on the legislation. Help us fill the room to show the Council that people support this important legislation.

Baltimore City Council Member Contact Information

Council President, Bernard C. “Jack” Young

410-396-4804

CouncilPresident@baltimorecity.gov

District 1, Zeke Cohen

410-396-4821

Zeke.Cohen@baltimorecity.gov

District 2, Brandon Scott

410-396-4808

Brandon.Scott@baltimorecity.gov

District 3, Ryan Dorsey

410-396-4812

Ryan.Dorsey@baltimorecity.gov

District 4, Bill Henry

410-396-4830

Bill.Henry@baltimorecity.gov

District 5, Isaac “Yitzy” Schleifer

410-396-4819

yitzy@baltimorecity.gov

District 6, Council Vice-President, Sharon Green Middleton

410-396-4832

sharon.middleton@baltimorecity.gov

District 7, Leon Pinkett

410-396-4810

Leon.Pinkett@baltimorecity.gov

District 8, Kristerfer Burnett

410-396-4818

kisterfer.burnett@baltimorecity.gov

District 9, John Bullock

410-396-4815

John.Bullock@baltimorecity.gov

District 10, Edward Reisinger

410-396-4822

edward.reisinger@baltimorecity.gov

District 11, Eric Costello

410-396-4816

eric.costello@baltimorecity.gov

District 12, Robert Stokes

410-396-4811

robert.stokes@baltimorecity.gov

District 13, Shannon Sneed

410-396-4829

Shannon.Sneed@baltimorecity.gov

District 14, Mary Pat Clarke

410-396-4814

marypat.clarke@baltimorecity.gov

»